24 Bands Announced To Download Festival 2011

Posted: January 26, 2011 in Festivals

For those of you who are unaware of what the Download Festival is, it is a three day long Rock N Roll music festival covering artists from new to old, from Cinderella to Slipknot Download will have something there for you to enjoy. It takes place at Donington Park, England and is in June every year since it has started in 2003.  Many people view Download as the follow up act to the older Monsters of Rock festival that was held between 1980-1996, for me it’s more of a modern day Woodstock or Warped Tour on steroids.

Last year at Download there were 100+ bands there and on Monday they have just announced the first big wave of bands to be playing the festival this year. For bands to get announced I would say is a pretty huge accomplishment because this is such a well known festival and to headline something this big has got to be a great milestone especially for some of the younger bands or bands of our generation.

To just name a few of the bands include:

Avenged Sevenfold (Headliners)

Alter Bridge

Bullet For My Valentine

Black Veil Brides


Escape the Fate


Hollywood Undead


Rob Zombie (Headliner)

System of a Down (Headliners)


With many more bands to come before the festival takes place June 10th – June 12th this year’s festival is going to one for the record books as you can tell by some of the bands that have already been listed already. For those of us here in the US it’s a bit hard to actually fly over there and get there but there’s always tons of coverage of it over the summer on channels such as VH1 Classic, Palladia, and Fuse. Also some bands such as Slipknot did in 2009 may film their set for a DVD one can only hope, but if you’re loaded (unlike myself) and are looking for a kick ass time this summer definitely try and make it out to Download this year. I’ll keep you guys updated as bands continue to become announced and I’ll leave the Download site below this post for you guys to check it out.


– Mason Richardson




Download 2011 Lineup


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s